This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Third Party products such as GuiXT, BMC Patrol, Vertex, Ixos etc...

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Dr Sidewalk on Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:21 am

Has anyone used Sharepoint (the latest version) to communicate with SAP?. Apparently you are supposed to be able to create forms in Sharepoint, accept data via them, and then update SAP directly, thus avoiding the use of Adobe interactive forms etc. Does anyone know if this is true?.

I'm no Sharepoint professional and have no idea what it can and can not do, but from reading on some forums I can see that Sharepoint has come a long way in terms of communicating with SAP.

Dr Sidewalk

"In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity" - Albert Einstein
"Money isn't everything in life, unless you don't have it"
"Fail to plan, plan to fail"
"Success is a journey, not a destination."
Dr Sidewalk
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:06 am
Location: Everywhere...

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Baz on Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:55 am

yes... we did look at this....

more info here.... http://www.microsoft.com/isv/sap/techno ... point.aspx
Baz

AsPiRiNg tUlY iDiOt Image

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Image

check out my Podcasts http://dj-baz.podomatic.com
Baz
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:54 am
Location: He's out there! somewhere!!!!

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Seany on Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:19 pm

Baz

This is SAPFANS, don't just post a link. Tell him exactly how to do it as he has put it on his CV and the client is now expecting him to deliver :lol:

Your boys are getting tonked by Vic's mob. Never mind, you can get your own back next week by stuffing the lillywhites.
Sean

I wish you good courage because courage will lead you to be a star and afraid will lead you to death. Be well and patient.


_____________
Seany
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Berks

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Dr Sidewalk on Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:17 am

Ta Baz,

Not going anywhere near Sharepoint, but one of our clients wxpressed an interest in using sharepoint instead of Adobe forms to enter Timesheet info. This was all new to me, and hence asked the question. Looked though the link that you provided and can see that Sharepoint has really come on since the version that I was last familiar with.

Many thanks

Dr Sidewalk
"In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity" - Albert Einstein
"Money isn't everything in life, unless you don't have it"
"Fail to plan, plan to fail"
"Success is a journey, not a destination."
Dr Sidewalk
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:06 am
Location: Everywhere...

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby AtholH on Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:25 pm

Dr Sidewalk wrote:Ta Baz,

Not going anywhere near Sharepoint, but one of our clients wxpressed an interest in using sharepoint instead of Adobe forms to enter Timesheet info. This was all new to me, and hence asked the question. Looked though the link that you provided and can see that Sharepoint has really come on since the version that I was last familiar with.

Many thanks

Dr Sidewalk


Try these guys http://www.erplink.com

They might have something, they already offer tools for integration of SharePoint and SAP for ECM, but I haven't looked much into their capability around things like adobe forms.
Specialist SAP DMS Consultant/Specialist SAP ArchiveLink Consultant
http://www.linkedin.com/in/atholhill
AtholH
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:43 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Dr Sidewalk on Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:59 am

The client has three choices, they could use the existing CATS timesheet entry system, or create entry forms using either Adobe Interactive forms or SHarepoint forms. Apparently the licenses for both Adobe and Sharepoint forms use are almost the cost of SAP licenses anyway. However, the aim is to reduce the costs of licensing considering how many employees there are in the business, of which most just need to update timesheets/expenses.

I had heard a rumour that there's also the option of using the open source document format instead of Adobe, but I'm not sure if such a development exist yet, but suspect if it did it would be license free being open source, or certainly less than the Microsoft/Adobe licensing costs.

Dr Sidewalk
"In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity" - Albert Einstein
"Money isn't everything in life, unless you don't have it"
"Fail to plan, plan to fail"
"Success is a journey, not a destination."
Dr Sidewalk
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:06 am
Location: Everywhere...

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby Baz on Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:16 am

could you not use EP instead?
Baz

AsPiRiNg tUlY iDiOt Image

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Image

check out my Podcasts http://dj-baz.podomatic.com
Baz
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:54 am
Location: He's out there! somewhere!!!!

Re: Has anyone used Sharepoint and SAP together?.

Postby thx4allthefish on Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:46 am

moved from GD.
curiousorange wrote:I give up. Humanity isn't worth saving. Why is there never a Vogon Constructor Fleet around when you really need one?
thx4allthefish
 
Posts: 5684
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 6:18 pm
Location: barolo barrel


Return to Third Party Products

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests



This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.