Skipped material number (ranges)

Logistics : MM and its sub-modules (WM, IM, PO, LIS)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, Ha Tran, svetja

Post Reply
MMPP
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 9:42 am
Location: My Desk

Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by MMPP » Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:45 pm

One of our material types is assigned to a number range 500000-599999. This seemed like a lot 12 years ago, but now our supply of available material numbers is dwindling.

One reason for this is that numbers are skipped when new materials were created. Not only numbers, whole ranges! We are now at ~570000, but almost 30000 material numbers were skipped! I believe this has something to do with "buffering", and we have this since turned off, but the question is...

Can we somehow reclaim/use the skipped material numbers? We are not adverse to modifying our system if that is what is needed... but having to switch to a new number range would be a severe pain in the arse.

svetja
Posts: 13946
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by svetja » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:11 am

First of all you should change the buffers for the material number ranges to 1 instead of the defaulted 10.

I think you have to make use of the user exit for material numbering to determine the gaps and use such lost numbers
Search before posting: search.php

MMPP
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 9:42 am
Location: My Desk

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by MMPP » Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:18 am

Danke Svetja! Setting the buffer to 1 doesn't cause issues? We have only one person creating materials, so I suppose the risk could be low.

Do you happen to know any other details on the user exit? Like the name, or any other documentation?

MMPP
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 9:42 am
Location: My Desk

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by MMPP » Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:40 am

On another thought, would resetting the index back to a starting number fill in the gaps automatically?

MMPP
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 9:42 am
Location: My Desk

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by MMPP » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:05 am

(This worked... setting the current material back to the beginning of the number range, SAP starts to fill in the skipped numbers. Yippiee.)

svetja
Posts: 13946
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by svetja » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:39 am

this will usually cause dumps when a number is assigned for which the material already exists.
Search before posting: search.php

MMPP
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 9:42 am
Location: My Desk

Re: Skipped material number (ranges)

Post by MMPP » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:41 am

It only assigns numbers that don't exist yet. Smart enough for that, luckily.

Post Reply