This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

B2B scenario - basic questions

All postings related to SAP XI

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

B2B scenario - basic questions

Postby Gunterdd » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:52 am

Hi experts,
My question is a really basic question, sorry in advance. I'm a functional SAP consultant and it is my 1st approach, and unfortunately, no SAP PI expert around me...
My company wants to implement a B2B scenario with one of his partner that works on SAP as well. I already have worked in the past with EDI messages exchanged through EDI subsystems (translator, router...), so this could be a scenario, but i want to be sure that there is not another solution to think about.

Can SAP PI prevent the 2 partners to communicate through standard EDI messages (EDIFACT, ...) , so not to make use of a EDI subsystem to map Idocs to EDI messages?
If yes, can anyone explain how a standard B2B process can work with SAP PI (please don't be too technical!).
Do both partners need to have SAP NW PI?

Thanks in advance.
Gunterdd

Re: B2B scenario - basic questions

Postby Baz » Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:12 am

No. both partners do not need to have SAP PI. you can do IDOC to IDOC without using EDI. or even IDOC to BAPI or BAPI to IDOC. SAP to SAP through PI gives plenty of scope. if you already have PI and your strategy is to use PI for ECC connections, then follow this.

however depending on your security requirements, you may not be allowed to expose PI directly from inside your network. you may need to use a decentralised Adapter engine and expose this in your DMZ. you may have to use a reverse proxy to direct the inbound message into your SAP Pi system.

there are a whole bunch of technical considerations to be taken into account before you know whether or not SAP PI is required. your company may allow access to your system via SAPRouter! speak to your Basis/network security team to get advice.
Baz

AsPiRiNg tUlY iDiOt Image