This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Group Currency

All postings related to SEM only

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Group Currency

Postby Nomo » Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:01 pm

If Consolidated report require multiple currencies consolidation across multiple regions, how will it be handled in BCS?

Total consolidation Report in JPY (Group Currency 30 = JPY)
European Region Consolidation Report in EUR (? Global Currency 60=EUR)?
America Region Consolidation Report in USD (?)
Nomo
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 3:31 am
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Postby dans » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:43 am

To achieve the desired results it would be necessary to have multiple group currencies - JPY, EUR and USD. For each group currency, you must execute all of the consolidation functions from data collection, currency translation, eliminations, etc. One option is to copy posting level 00 - 10 data from one group currency into another once data collection.
dans
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:26 am

Postby Nomo » Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:29 am

Dans,

Thank you for your reply.
My understanding is that, "Group Currency" is a client currency and we can set up only one currency as a "Group Currency".

So, in this case, JPY would be Group Currency.
I wonder how system achieves regional consolidation for "Europe = EUR" and regional consolidation for NorthAmerica = USD".
Nomo
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 3:31 am
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Postby dans » Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:58 am

If you are using BW-based BCS you may have more than one group currency for the same cons area and version. As group currency is a characteristic in the same data base, each group currency is a "separate" set of data and is treated similar to a separate version, where it is necessary to either copy data from the original, source group currency data, or execute data collection and the other consolidation tasks for each group currency.

If you are using R/3-based BCS or EC-CS you will need a separate version for each group currency.
dans
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:26 am

Postby Nomo » Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:09 am

Dans,

Thank you for the reply.
In FI, only currency can be set up as a "Group Currency".
but it seems that BCS provides multiple currencies to be "Group Currency".

So, once FI "Company Code" currency amount is extracted, BCS can maintain any "Group Currency" amount as long as "FX Translation" is done in BCS.

Best Regards,
Nomo
Nomo
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 3:31 am
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Postby Nomo » Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:14 am

Dans,

Thank you for the reply.
In FI, only currency can be set up as a "Group Currency".
but it seems that BCS provides multiple currencies to be "Group Currency".

So, once FI "Company Code" currency amount is extracted, BCS can maintain any "Group Currency" amount as long as "FX Translation" is done in BCS.

Best Regards,
Nomo
Nomo
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 3:31 am
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Return to SEM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





loading...


This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.