This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Long unit of measures

Logistics QM

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, Ha Tran

Long unit of measures

Postby Bram » Tue Oct 29, 2002 11:04 am

We have with qualtity management several units which are longer than 6 characters like
Unit : mg KOH/
Unit : meqO2
Unit : meqO2/kg
Unit : gard.
Unit : cpoise

Has anybody experience with it , how can it be solved.

Many thanks in advance,

Bram.
Bram
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands (temp.US IL)

QM: units of measure with more than 3 characters

Postby Daniel Pereira » Tue Oct 29, 2002 11:39 am

Hi Bram,
Try to check any ISO (International Standard Organization) publication or
site as there should be a 1 to 3 caracter display for these UoM if these are
widely used. If ISO did not come accross these before and/or you need
to create them use transaction CUNI.

Hope it helps,
daniel pereira
Daniel Pereira
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:31 am
Location: Lisbon, PT

Postby QM-Dude » Wed Oct 30, 2002 6:15 am

Hi,

we solved this problem by adding the unit to the MIC short text. Also I found that many requested units are not real units of measurement and/or non SI-based units. Like CentiPoise is not valid any longer. Anyhow. If you have longer ones, make use of the ISO codes if available and appropiate as suggest earlier. Keep in mind that most of the SAP screens shows only the 6 digit unit name and not the description texts. For the printout on forms or labels you can adjust your SAPscript to print the short text instead the technical field. But this needs detailed check for feasability.

Best regards
QM-Dude
QM-Dude
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 3:39 am
Location: Germany


Return to Logistics QM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.