This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Deleting workflow items VS archiving workflow items

Business WorkFlow

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Deleting workflow items VS archiving workflow items

Postby khan1978 » Thu May 15, 2008 11:10 am

Hello folks,
I am new to workflow and I have question on deleting workflow VS archiving workflow. We have only one workflow (Time approval) in system, which is running from last 3 or 4 years. Having said that, what is the best approach, should I delete the old workflow say which are in 2000`s or should I archive it. SAP recommends’ to archive the work items not delete it .I just want opinion from the people who been there. Also, since we are running only one workflow, and I don’t think it’s a big deal to keep it in a system.
We should delete or archive if we are running bunch of workflows, but it just me.

Please share your thoughts, experiences and approaches. Keeping one workflow can cause system performance bottleneck? Also please share with me any good documentation, OSS notes to delete AND/OR archive workflow.

Thanks.
Khan

FYI
I’d imagine that deleting or archiving workflow is basis task?


Delete Work Item
Use
This report deletes work items from tables without archiving.


Therefore, this report should not be used in a production system.
In a production system you must use archive management to archive and delete work items in order to ensure data consistency.
Features
On the selection screen, you can set the following indicators in Technical settings.
● Number of work items per LUW
Here you can enter the number of work items to be deleted per database transaction. The setting is database-specific. Refer to SAP Note 107410.
● Delete immediately
If you set this indicator, the work items selected are deleted immediately.
Otherwise, a list is displayed in which you can delete work items using the function. You can also go to the workflow log by double-clicking.
● Delete log data as well
If you set this indicator, the log data for the selected work items is deleted from the workflow log.
Activities
You can access this function by choosing Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Administration ® Workflow runtime ®Reorganization ® Delete work item.

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw2004s/hel ... ameset.htm
SAP Consultant
USA....
khan1978
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:57 am
Location: Who cares

Return to Business WorkFlow

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.