Page 1 of 1

Issue with Uploading Roles

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:59 pm
by MikeNZ
Hello

In the DEV environment I am trying to upload some roles - using the standard Role > Upload file path.

And am getting the error message "The file does not contain any valid data"

I am using a 7.10 Gui and the system is being hosted by SAP.

I can't upload ANY single or mass downloaded roles.

I have tried to upload the same roles - in a different system - with the 6.40 Gui - (and am pretty sure this is on a different operating system) - and this works fine... so there is no issue with the roles. Just that this system doesn't recognise them.

Does anyone have any ideas? My only thoughts currently are that either the GUI or the operating system is preventing the uploads?

Are there any settings that may impact this?

Thanks in advance

p.s. I am trying to upload some basic project support roles to fasttrack the build of the access I will provide to the project team (ABAP display, Config., Transport etc etc)

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:09 am
by thx4allthefish
what happens if you add the system where you could upload the roles to the 7.10 gui; access the system via the 7.10 and then upload the roles?

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:45 pm
by datkid001
Funny I encountered the same thing when I installed the 7.10 gui on one of my machines. I jumped over to a machine running the 6.40 gui and there was no issue. The following day the basis team updated our system with the latest patches and the issue dissappeared. So my question to you is what version of SAP (5.0 or 6.0) and what support pack/patch level is currently installed?

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:09 am
by berryd
Try downloading as UTF8 default for ANSII instead. When uploading do the same.

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:06 am
by MikeNZ
Thanks Berryd -

Have found that it doesn't matter what you download format you download the roles as - as long as you chnage the upload parameter to Default - UTF8 for unicode systems)