This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Restricting F4 help for node var. (time dep. hierachy)

Business Warehouse

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Restricting F4 help for node var. (time dep. hierachy)

Postby SappyBW » Thu May 29, 2014 5:47 am

Dear All,

I have recently come across an issue with hierarchy input help (F4) on query selection screen. Unfortunately I've run out of ideas so I decided to register here as maybe someone knows what to do.
As I'm not very experienced I would like to share this problem with you who may have broader knowledge than me on this subject and I kindly ask for advice. Any help is much appretiated.

Now, to the point.
Description of environment
Let's assume the following
  • My characteristic is "POSITION". This char is bearing time-dep. master data
  • I have a hierarchy with time dependent structure for this char. Let's call it "ORG_STRUCT".
  • In the hierarchy, an external characteristic is used: "DEPARTMENT". This characteristic is a time-dependent navigation attribute of POSITION.
  • On query a user can choose a calendar month for reporting
As an example, assume the following hierarchy:
Text; InfoObject; Node Name ; Valid From ; Valid to
1. Sales; DEPARTMENT; 12; 01.01.2014; 31.12.9999
1.1. Marketer; POSITION; 13; 01.01.2014; 30.04.2014
1.2. Analyst; POSITION; 14; 01.01.2014; 31.12.2014
1.3. Strategist; POSITION; 17; 01.01.2014; 31.12.2014
2. Research; DEPARTMENT; 15; 01.01.2013; 31.12.2013
2.1. Researcher; POSITION; 16; 01.01.2013; 31.12.2013

And, to imagine it easier, an example of master data for some positions:
FOR MARKETER
ID; valid to; valid from; department; text
13; 31.12.2013; 01.01.1000; NULL; NULL
13; 31.12.2014; 01.01.2014; 1. Sales; marketer
13; 31.12.9999; 01.01.2015; NULL; NULL
FOR RESEARCHER:
16; 31.12.2012; 01.01.1000; NULL; NULL
16; 31.12.2013; 01.01.2013; Research; Researcher;
16; 31.12.9999; 01.01.2014; NULL; NULL