This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

ABAP Functional Module

Development (ABAP Development WorkBench, ABAP/4 programming)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, YuriT, Gothmog

ABAP Functional Module

Postby Mit5252 » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:32 am

Hello All

Can anyone tell me, why do we need to built custom ABAP functional module. I am trying to understand the business need that requires
custom ABAP functional module. And also what is the difference between ABAP functional module and class interface.

Thanks you all.
Mit5252
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:20 pm

Re: ABAP Functional Module

Postby Gothmog » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:47 am

Function module, you mean?
Well, you don't have to, you could use class methods - except for the many customizing points and processes (IDocs, for example) that expect a function module.
Also, you can include dynpros in a function group, you can't have them in a class.

It's not a business need, it's a technical need.
68 74 74 70 3a 2f 2f 74 69 6e 79 75 72 6c 2e 63 6f 6d 2f 62 64 6f 37 6d 77 67
Gothmog
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:46 am
Location: Probably not home

Re: ABAP Functional Module

Postby Grogan » Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:21 pm

Other technical reasons for using a Function Module over a Class / Method are:
* RFC calls; and
* CALL FUNCTION ... IN UPDATE TASK.

These have no equivalent in ABAP Objects.
Grogan

Award cash if useful.
Grogan
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: Australia


Return to ABAP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests





loading...


This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.