Page 1 of 1

Reference table in program from FM

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:53 am
by DrSidewalk
Is it possible to call an FM from a program and have the FM reference table entries from the program without physically passing the table values across. IN my case there could 100,000 so do not want to pass them into the FM?.

Dr Sidewalk

Re: Reference table in program from FM

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:14 am
by Gothmog
Well, you could use a field-symbol to access data in the ABAP stack, but that's usually a last resort.

Re: Reference table in program from FM

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:20 pm
by Grogan
Function parameters are always pass-by-reference unless explicitly marked as pass-by-value (which is not an option for TABLES parameters), so I don't see passing a large table as a big issue - you are only passing a reference to the table, not the physical data.