This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Reference table in program from FM

Development (ABAP Development WorkBench, ABAP/4 programming)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, YuriT, Gothmog

Reference table in program from FM

Postby DrSidewalk » Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:53 am

Is it possible to call an FM from a program and have the FM reference table entries from the program without physically passing the table values across. IN my case there could 100,000 so do not want to pass them into the FM?.

Dr Sidewalk
DrSidewalk
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Reference table in program from FM

Postby Gothmog » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:14 am

Well, you could use a field-symbol to access data in the ABAP stack, but that's usually a last resort.
68 74 74 70 3a 2f 2f 74 69 6e 79 75 72 6c 2e 63 6f 6d 2f 62 64 6f 37 6d 77 67
Gothmog
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:46 am
Location: Probably not home

Re: Reference table in program from FM

Postby Grogan » Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:20 pm

Function parameters are always pass-by-reference unless explicitly marked as pass-by-value (which is not an option for TABLES parameters), so I don't see passing a large table as a big issue - you are only passing a reference to the table, not the physical data.
Grogan

Award cash if useful.
Grogan
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: Australia


Return to ABAP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests





loading...


This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.