Can't open a dataset

Development (ABAP Development WorkBench, ABAP/4 programming)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, YuriT, Gothmog

Post Reply
alan22
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:57 am

Can't open a dataset

Post by alan22 » Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:23 am

Hi,

I am having a problem in openeing a dataset. When I run the program, I get sy-subrc = 8. The file name is in small letters.

Code: Select all

 

open dataset binfile1 for output in binary mode MESSAGE MESS.

   IF SY-SUBRC NE 0.   
  WRITE: 'File cannot be opened. Reason:', mess.
  EXIT.
ENDIF.

Does any one have any idea?

Cheers
alan

ssii
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:57 am
Location: France

Re: Can't open a dataset

Post by ssii » Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:07 pm

This sound like an authorization problem.

You should verify that the SAPUSER has the right authorization to access the directory and read the file...
SSII is back

alan22
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:57 am

Re: Can't open a dataset

Post by alan22 » Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:56 pm

Hi,

I am using minisap as a user bcuser. I also tried as SAP* (super user), but it didnt work either. How can I check, if the bcuser has rights to access and read the file?

Cheers

VLozano
Posts: 5142
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Idiocity
Contact:

Re: Can't open a dataset

Post by VLozano » Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:59 am

I'm not sure with miniSAP, but in SAP you must be sure that the file's path and name are the same than you can find them using AL11. I mean, having the whole path in lower case would give you an access error if the file have a single upper case letter. Check AL11.
Tuly Idiots
Because we know we are part of the problem

MattG
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:06 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't open a dataset

Post by MattG » Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:25 am

UNIX, and therefore LINUX, systems are case sensitive for file path names.

What is the message returned in MESS? Is MESS long enough for the whole message?
MattG.
Image Search SAPfans

nangia
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:10 am
Location: Europe India

Re: Can't open a dataset

Post by nangia » Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:28 am

most likely it would be authorization issue else Basis guys have supressed this to be used for Access!!

nangia

Post Reply