Page 1 of 1

Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 4:40 am
by parthamurali
HI gurus

i am in need of coding abap programme to automatically trigger lsmw prg

your input might be useful

Re: Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:04 am
by phillipm
What do you need to do exactly?
You can tell LSMW that your import project is periodic. This should enable one or more extra steps, including one with selection screen containing Project, subproject, and object. This is the part you can schedule.

Or else you can enable steps to generate the import and conversion programs...

Phillip

Re: Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:49 am
by parthamurali
HI

wat we are working on it is
step1: uploading the file into sap i.e done(which is having abt 12 coloumns)
step2:converting in to text file for lsmw prg
step3:automatically a pushbutton for lsmw have to start uploading the data

so the idea is lsmw prg should trigger automatically

with regards
partha

Re: Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 9:53 am
by abap_doctor
LSMW is primarily a migration tool that the user sits in front of and runs loading objects as and when required during a finite period of time.

I don't think it should be used to write anything that will be used periodically...

For one, it's not the most efficient of code-writers, and for two I'd code far more controls into it before releasing it as an interface...

My advice, if you want to write a periodic interface would be to code it yourself in ABAP...

Re: Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:58 am
by wilhitern1
Now, by code it yourself do you mean like with a BAPI... (I'm a newbie to this forum [though I've been on many other forums for years], so if my inserting like this on this topic is a breach please let me know0 That certainly would have been my first stop.

Re: Abap program to triger lsmw

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:10 am
by abap_doctor
A BAPI may be part of the code (although it doesn't neccessarily have to be, and you may find there isn't one to use).