users said... the system is too slow..... and we type sm50?

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

yls177

users said... the system is too slow..... and we type sm50?

Post by yls177 » Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:12 am

hi, when users complain that the system is too slow, is it common to do checking/responding of the processes of sm50. Is it advisable to change the parameters? i doubt so since there will be peak periods like month end, and etc and it is too much of a hassle to switch around. So, besides sm50, what else? thanks

Incho
Posts: 1537
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:32 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Incho » Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:30 am

Performance tuning is a very complex topic.....

In nutshell you can check the following:
st03 or st03n response time, etc
st06 CPU util, Memory usage
st02 swaps/ buffers
st04 DB tuning (eg buffer hit ratio)
...

Incho

yls177

Post by yls177 » Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:40 am

ya.. its a very complex topic.. say after all these ST0(number), what are we going to do to those red colours?

go and change the parameters? one strong thing about SAP is that it is integrated and the weak thing is also its strength. so by changing the parameters, the changes will repel in other parameters too? then, a few days later, we change something again?

if i am right, SAP has recommendations to setting the parameters and of course we have to match the hardware which SAP sets...? is it true?

MikeIP
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:37 am
Location: USA, CA
Contact:

Post by MikeIP » Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:59 am

Hi,
Generally it's useful to determine the approximate reason of poor performance.
So you should contact with your users for more proper explanation.
1. You can find how to improve performance through SM50 at http://www.basisconsutant.com (download section)
2. You can analyze your buffers (ST02). See note 103747 (if you have SAP v 4.0..4.6)
3. ST03 (Workload Analysis) also can be useful for determining the source of poor performance. (You may use ST04, ST07 or ST03n too)
4. Try to check connection time and quality from instance server to your presentation servers (FrontEnds PC) with tr. OS01 (or using OS command).

Good luck,
MikeIP

yls177

Post by yls177 » Thu Oct 24, 2002 8:31 pm

connection time and quality from instance server to your presentation

os06 requires saposcol to run. so if saposcol is not running, then os06 will not display any values, right?

so, on the other hand, we have the os level commands. but i do not know the os commands to monitor the connection time and quality( in terms of what) from instance server to the presentation.

thanks

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Oct 24, 2002 11:33 pm

Check your OS Task manager for any Dr.watson error. If so terminate the task and also check the DISK I/O activity and the stripeset. You also need to verify the pagefile allocation and if necessary split it across the disk to imporive the performance

- JK

alam

SAP is too slow

Post by alam » Sat Oct 26, 2002 10:25 pm

Hi,

Did you review the data archiving policy ? When the SAP database is very big, usually the performance decrease.

Regards,

Guest

Post by Guest » Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:16 pm

hwo do i check the data archiving policy

yls177
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:12 pm

Post by yls177 » Mon Oct 28, 2002 4:11 am

i am not sure what it refers to.. it could refer to the sarparchive status..

Zavaros
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:50 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by Zavaros » Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:15 pm

hi,

you have RED colors in ST02, ST04 ?
Check your instance parameters according OSS Note 103747 and the notes referenced by it.

when you finished with it, check whether there are some bottlenecks round the processes or semaphores.
Bottlenecks can be caused by poorly written programms or bad user behavior... or you reached your hardware's limits...

Than U have to check the possibility of network bottleneck. There is some simple calculations that U can find both on OSS and SAPnet.

...well... it is adviced to start the archiving from the begining but the archive subsystem is a bit expensive. So you will not use it until your database reaches the 300-500 GB ... or more...

...ugh... thats all for the first time...

Bye

Zav

alam

Post by alam » Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:06 pm

Hi:

At the time, the DB increase rapidly the size (depend of each installation), so the performance decrease (is poor). The SAP user should be define, how they will migrate (not delete) the innecesary data to other place, usually optical disks (more cheapest). For this purpose you can use SAP tools (Archivelink) or software look like Ixos Archiving for SAP (http://www.ixos.com). Please check: http://www.sappro.com/archiving/ for other information.

I have the same problem of performance, my installation never migrate the data since the first installation (year 96), so we are working in a Archiving Project.

thx4allthefish
Posts: 5694
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 6:18 pm
Location: barolo barrel

Post by thx4allthefish » Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:23 pm

i'm very much with incho in the first place :)

but alam! you are now starting on an archiving project? pretty late - it seems to me ... and please please please: do differ from archiving document (i. e. printed data) to be handled by ixos or easy or aequivalent software ... and pure data-archiving (nothing to do with output) - two different cards on the same prospect

yls177
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:12 pm

Post by yls177 » Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:37 pm

1) archive subsystem refers to software like ixos?

2) and ixos is used to archive the database.

3) and archive includes compression as well?

4) saparch directory only archives (compresses) the data?

thanks for the clarification

thx4allthefish
Posts: 5694
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 6:18 pm
Location: barolo barrel

Post by thx4allthefish » Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:49 pm

ixos/easy and relatives are determined to archive print/document-data, not binary data on the database - hence you would not get them to decrease your table space-consumption

yls177
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:12 pm

Post by yls177 » Mon Oct 28, 2002 10:55 pm

how about this sara tcode? it is used as archiving as well....

just want to clarify, does the saparch contains compressed offline redo log files? compressed is the keyword..

Locked