This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Fri Aug 29, 2003 8:22 am

I run the installation script and it doesn't create an error. But it would't go
any further than around the 50 %
The item it is than running is
INFO 2003-08-17 18:28:07 DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA SyCoprocessCreate:928
Creating coprocess F:\orant\bin\svrmgr30.exe ...
I waited for around 15 hours but nothing is changing
I think there is something wrong with the oracle connection.

I saw in this forum that the solution is in oss note 417561. Could somebody mail that note to me

Thank you
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com

wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby oldsapguru on Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:04 pm

Wheel,

I have e-mailed you the OSS note. Please be aware that the reset database step is little more but a pause in order for the listener to be brought up and tested. If the listener has a problem, that step is going to sit there forever.

Open a DOS command box and type in svrmgrl. If you get a TNS adaptor error, something is wrong. Are you doing the install via terminal server or some other remote connection tool? If so, you need to set the environmental LOCAL=<SID>.

Bring everything down including all the oracle and SAP services. Then reboot the machine. Now log back on and start the TNSlistener service. Go out to a DOS box and do the "svrmgrl" command again. If you get no errors, do a "connect internal". Now do a "startup mount;" and then a "alter database open;". If all these went OK, you should be able to restart your installation.

If you had errors, make sure you have the ORACLE_SID and ORACLE_HOME environmentals on the user ID you are using for the installation.
oldsapguru
 
Posts: 5489
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 6:08 pm
Location: Nashville via Manhattan

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Tue Sep 02, 2003 1:46 am

Thank you jo,

I tried to fix connect internal (that it wouldn't ask a password) but it didn't help. I will try to tell you my situation:

- Yesterday, I formatted my harddisk. Then I install windows 2000 server with SP4 on my standalone PC.
A pentium 4, with 512 ram and a harddisk of 120 GB.

- Then I installed Oracle 8.0.5 on it. I made a database with the oracle assistant. The listener
(OracleTNSListener80) and the service (OracleServiceORCL) is running fine. I tried svrmgr30 (In that version of oracle svrmgrl doesn't exist). I give "connect internal", I have to fill in a password (I know it is "ORACLE", so that isn' t a problem) So i think everything is allright with oracle. But i have to fill in a password is that allright. Then i deleted the database and started to install SAP.

- Then i got stuck on "DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA". So i tought with that note everything would be allright. I changed the user of services:
OracleServiceC11 => c11adm
OracleTNSListener80

SAPC11_00 => SAPServiceC11 (default, not
changed)
SAPOSCOL


- i looked for alle the enviroment variabeles in the system (i even put local in it)
These are them:
ALLUSERSPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\All Users
APPDATA=D:\Documents and Settings\c11adm\Application Data
CommonProgramFiles=D:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=PC-WHEEL
ComSpec=D:\WINNT\system32\cmd.exe
DBMS_TYPE=ORA
dbs_ora_tnsname=C11
HOMEDRIVE=D:
HOMEPATH=\
LOCAL=C11
LOGONSERVER=\\PC-WHEEL
NLS_LANG=AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8DEC
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1
ORACLE_HOME=F:\orant
ORACLE_SID=C11
OS=Windows_NT
Os2LibPath=D:\WINNT\system32\os2\dll;
Path=F:\orant\bin;D:\WINNT\system32;D:\WINNT;D:\WINNT\System32\Wbem;;F:\usr\sap\C11\sys\exe\run;F:\orant\bin
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 7, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=15
PROCESSOR_REVISION=0207
ProgramFiles=D:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
SAPARCH=F:\oracle\C11\saparch
SAPBACKUP=F:\oracle\C11\sapbackup
SAPCHECK=F:\oracle\C11\sapcheck
SAPDATA1=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata1
SAPDATA2=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata2
SAPDATA3=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata3
SAPDATA4=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata4
SAPDATA5=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata5
SAPDATA6=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata6
SAPDATA_HOME=F:\oracle\C11
SAPLOCALHOST=pc-wheel
SAPREORG=F:\oracle\C11\sapreorg
SAPTRACE=F:\oracle\C11\saptrace
SystemDrive=D:
SystemRoot=D:\WINNT
TEMP=D:\DOCUME~1\c11adm\LOCALS~1\Temp
TMP=D:\DOCUME~1\c11adm\LOCALS~1\Temp
USERDOMAIN=PC-WHEEL
USERNAME=c11adm
USERPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\c11adm
windir=D:\WINNT

- permission groups of user c11adm
Administrators
ORA_C11_DBA
ORA_C11_OPER
SAP_C11_GlobalAdmin
SAP_C11_LocalAdmin
SAP_LocalAdmin
Users

- First i restarted my PC. Then i tried svrmgr30 like you told me to: It don't give any ORA errors
I gave a "connect internal"; it asked for a password again.
what is the password for an SAP database annyway after trying "ORACLE" i get the error:
=> error: ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
what is normal i think.
try startup mount;
ORA-01031: insufficient privileges

So do you have any suggestions for me, if you need other information just ask me. Is the asking of that password (connect internal) really the problem why DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA is hanging?

Thank you
Chris Vandewiele
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby polipo on Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:49 am

If you start OracleServiceORCL and your SID is C11, there's something wrong. It's seems that you performed the oracle installation using the
Oracle CD.
SAP Has its own ORACLE install CD that sets the database and the registry
as required.
If you want to use your oracle installation, you could try to define
OracleServiceC11 with the ORADIM command (maybe ORADIM80.EXE in your version).
if you issue this command without parameters from a cmd prompt, it opens a window with the syntax explanation.
Then you have to change your listener.ora and tnsnames.ora with C11 instead of ORCL. Keep in mind that the TCP port used by SAP is 1527 instead of the standard 1521.
It can be a funny exercise, but I think it's better to re-install oracle with
the CD supplied by SAP.
polipo
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 5:44 am

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:10 am

That is not the problem I have changed the SID and other variables when i worked with ORCL database and changed them beck or reinstall everything when i work with sap sid C11.

But how does it come that connect internal is asking for a password? what is the password... And is that why the installation is hanging on DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA??????


Thank you
Chris Vandewiele
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:11 am

Could somebody help me please


Thank you
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby nainesh on Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:21 am

Try this...

Try to start oracle thru windows services...does the service start successfully...

Try setting environment variables at command prompt...

set ORACLE_SID=<sid>
set ORACLE_HOME= <path>

Now try thru svrmgrl and connect internal...

Try to connect using sqlplus - system/manager@<tnsentry>
does it connect...

Create a new user and assign him to DBA /admin group and then login using this user and use svrmgrl.

let me know the errors u face...
nainesh
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 6:12 am
Location: !!!! Go COLTS !!!!

Postby nainesh on Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:26 am

One more point

Both you oracle services should be started by SYSTEM account
nainesh
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 6:12 am
Location: !!!! Go COLTS !!!!

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:35 am

- Try to start oracle thru windows services...does the service start successfully... => THIS WORKS WITHOUT ERRORS

- Try setting environment variables at command prompt...
set ORACLE_SID=<sid>
set ORACLE_HOME= <path>
=> THIS WORKS WITHOUT ERRORS


- Now try thru svrmgrl and connect internal...
=> I can't work with svrmgrl it is oracle 8.0.5 that works with svrmgr30 then i do connect internal => THIS ASKS FOR A PASSWORD, I DON'T KNOW THE PASSWORD, "oracle" won't work so i can't get any further
WHAT IS THE PASSWORD?????

Thank you
Wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby nainesh on Wed Sep 03, 2003 8:41 am

can you connect using connect string..

like -- connect system/manager@<tnsstring>

For this to work you will have to put an entry in tnsnames.ora


If this is successful then you will have use the oradim utitility to reset the internal password...

One more question...do you by chance have 2 listeners configured..

What about the login account starting the listener and Oracle<sid> service? is it SYSTEM or <SID>adm..
nainesh
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 6:12 am
Location: !!!! Go COLTS !!!!

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Thu Sep 04, 2003 1:15 am

Hi,

My set ORACLE_SID=C11
set ORACLE_HOME=F:\orant

Both my oracle services are started wit system account

- Try to connect using sqlplus - connect system/manager@C11.WORLD
=> ERROR ORA-01034 ORACLE not available

- svrmgr30.exe => no errors
connect system/manager@C11.WORLD
=> ERROR ORA-01034 ORACLE not available
See listener.ora => port 1527

My listener.ora--------------
################
# Filename......: listener.ora
# Created.......: created by SAP AG, R/3 Rel. >= 4.0A
# Name..........:
# Date..........:
################
LISTENER =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS=
(PROTOCOL=IPC)
(KEY= C11.WORLD)
)
(ADDRESS=
(PROTOCOL=IPC)
(KEY= C11)
)
(ADDRESS =
(COMMUNITY = SAP.WORLD)
(PROTOCOL = TCP)
(HOST = pc-wheel)
(PORT = 1527)
)
)
STARTUP_WAIT_TIME_LISTENER = 0
CONNECT_TIMEOUT_LISTENER = 10
TRACE_LEVEL_LISTENER = OFF
SID_LIST_LISTENER =
(SID_LIST =
(SID_DESC =
(SDU = 32768)
(SID_NAME = C11)
(ORACLE_HOME = F:\orant)
)
)

My TNSnames.ora------------------
# F:\ORANT\NET80\ADMIN\TNSNAMES.ORA Configuration File:F:\orant\net80\admin\tnsnames.ora
# Generated by Oracle Net8 Assistant

C11.WORLD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(SDU = 32768)
(ADDRESS = (COMMUNITY = SAP.WORLD)(PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = pc-wheel)(PORT = 1527))
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = C11)(GLOBAL_NAME = C11.WORLD))
)

ORALOCAL.WORLD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = NMP)(Server = PC-WHEEL)(Pipe = ORAPIPE))
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = ORCL))
)

BEQ-LOCAL.WORLD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = BEQ)(PROGRAM = oracle80)(ARGV0 = oracle80ORCL)(ARGS = '(DESCRIPTION=(LOCAL=YES)(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=beq)))'))
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = ORCL))
)

ORATCP.WORLD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = PC-WHEEL)(PORT = 1521))
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = ORCL))
)

TCP-LOOPBACK.WORLD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = PC-WHEEL)(PORT = 1521))
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = ORCL))
)

My Sqlnet.ora---------------
# C:\ORANT\NET80\ADMIN\SQLNET.ORA for SERVER
# Generated by Oracle Net8 Assistant
AUTOMATIC_IPC = ON
NAME.DEFAULT_ZONE = WORLD
NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = WORLD
NAMES.DIRECTORY_PATH= (TNSNAMES)

TRACE_LEVEL_SERVER=ADMIN
TRACE_FILE_SERVER=server
TRACE_DIRECTORY_SERVER=F:\ORANT\NET80\TRACE
TRACE_UNIQUE_SERVER=TRUE
TRACE_LEVEL_CLIENT = OFF
SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES = (NTS)
SQLNET.EXPIRE_TIME = 0

My protocol.ora---------------------
tcp.nodelay = true

My environment variables of user c11adm ------------------
ALLUSERSPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\All Users
APPDATA=D:\Documents and Settings\c11adm\Application Data
CommonProgramFiles=D:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=PC-WHEEL
ComSpec=D:\WINNT\system32\cmd.exe
DBMS_TYPE=ORA
dbs_ora_tnsname=C11
HOMEDRIVE=D:
HOMEPATH=\
LOCAL=C11
LOGONSERVER=\\PC-WHEEL
NLS_LANG=AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8DEC
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1
ORACLE_HOME=F:\orant
ORACLE_SID=C11
OS=Windows_NT
Os2LibPath=D:\WINNT\system32\os2\dll;
Path=F:\orant\bin;D:\WINNT\system32;D:\WINNT;D:\WINNT\System32\Wbem;;F:\usr\sap\C11\sys\exe\run;F:\orant\bin
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 7, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=15
PROCESSOR_REVISION=0207
ProgramFiles=D:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
SAPARCH=F:\oracle\C11\saparch
SAPBACKUP=F:\oracle\C11\sapbackup
SAPCHECK=F:\oracle\C11\sapcheck
SAPDATA1=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata1
SAPDATA2=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata2
SAPDATA3=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata3
SAPDATA4=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata4
SAPDATA5=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata5
SAPDATA6=F:\oracle\C11\sapdata6
SAPDATA_HOME=F:\oracle\C11
SAPLOCALHOST=pc-wheel
SAPREORG=F:\oracle\C11\sapreorg
SAPTRACE=F:\oracle\C11\saptrace
SystemDrive=D:
SystemRoot=D:\WINNT
TEMP=D:\DOCUME~1\c11adm\LOCALS~1\Temp
TMP=D:\DOCUME~1\c11adm\LOCALS~1\Temp
USERDOMAIN=PC-WHEEL
USERNAME=c11adm
USERPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\c11adm
windir=D:\WINNT

I hope you have info enough, If you don't have let me know...
Con you help me with the error???
=> ERROR ORA-01034 ORACLE not available
OR is this normal in the stage of installation DBRESETDATABASE_NT_ORA that you get that error??


Thank you
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby wheelsoftware2000 on Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:25 am

who can help me

Thank you
wheelsoftware2000@hotmail.com
wheelsoftware2000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:38 am

Postby nainesh on Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:01 am

Sorry friend don't really see a way out of this...One last try would be relinking the Oracle Binaries...not too sure it will work...had worked for me on unix but under different scenario..
nainesh
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 6:12 am
Location: !!!! Go COLTS !!!!

Postby oldsapguru on Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:23 pm

Binaries don't get relinked on NT.

Also replace the listener.ora, tnsnames.ora, and sqlnet.ora files with the samples below. Mkae sure to replace <saphostname> in each file. After you have replaced them in \oralce\<SID>\network\admin, also place them in \usr\sap\trans.

Try setting NLS_LANG = AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8DEC. Then reboot the server, bring up SAPOSCOL, then ORACLETNSListener, and then try using svrmgr30. The connect internal should not ask for a password now.

***********Replace your listener.ora with this**********************

################
# Filename......: listener.ora
# Created.......: created by SAP AG, R/3 Rel. >= 6.10
# Name..........:
# Date..........:
################
LISTENER =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS =
(PROTOCOL = IPC)
(KEY = C11.WORLD)
)
(ADDRESS=
(PROTOCOL = IPC)
(KEY = C11)
)
(ADDRESS =
(COMMUNITY = SAP.WORLD)
(PROTOCOL = TCP)
(HOST = <saphostname>)
(PORT = 1527)
)
)
STARTUP_WAIT_TIME_LISTENER = 0
CONNECT_TIMEOUT_LISTENER = 10
TRACE_LEVEL_LISTENER = OFF
SID_LIST_LISTENER =
(SID_LIST =
(SID_DESC =
(SDU = 32768)
(SID_NAME = C11)
(ORACLE_HOME = c:\oracle\C11)
)
)
***********End of listener.ora **********************

********Replace your tnsnames.ora with this**************\################
# Filename......: tnsnames.ora
# Created.......: created by SAP AG, R/3 Rel. >= 6.10
# Name..........:
# Date..........:
################
C11.WORLD=
(DESCRIPTION =
(SDU = 32768)
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS =
(COMMUNITY = SAP.WORLD)
(PROTOCOL = TCP)
(HOST = <saphostname>)
(PORT = 1527)
)
)
(CONNECT_DATA =
(SID = C11)
(GLOBAL_NAME = C11.WORLD)
)
)
**************End of tnsnames.ora********************

**************Replace your sqlnet.ora with this************
##############
# Filename......: sqlnet.ora
# Created.......: created by SAP AG, R/3 Rel. >= 6.10
# Name..........:
# Date..........:
################
AUTOMATIC_IPC = ON
TRACE_LEVEL_CLIENT = OFF
NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = WORLD
NAME.DEFAULT_ZONE = WORLD
SQLNET.EXPIRE_TIME = 0
SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES = (NTS)
************End of sqlnet.ora replacement********************
oldsapguru
 
Posts: 5489
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 6:08 pm
Location: Nashville via Manhattan

Postby oldsapguru on Thu Sep 04, 2003 5:31 pm

Having just had to deal with this one due to a virus wiping a SAP server, I have a fresh new proceptive.

Make sure your ORA_<SID>_DBA and ORA_<SID>_OPER groups got created as administrators and/or domain administrators. Also make sure SAPservice<SID> and <sid>adm have these 2 groups attached.

Now take TNS listener and the database down. Then go into a DOS command and do a svrmgr30 and do a connect internal. It should NOT ask you for a password.
oldsapguru
 
Posts: 5489
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 6:08 pm
Location: Nashville via Manhattan


Return to Basis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests



This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.