This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Instance profile changes, system does not startup

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Instance profile changes, system does not startup

Postby CarolS » Tue Oct 22, 2002 3:07 am

I have a problem with my instance profile parameters. Every time I make a change to one of the parameters the system does not startup. The errors that I get in the work processes are related to shared memory pools, It complains about parameter "ipc_shm pool 10"and pool "40" that is configured too small although the actual size set in instance profile indicates that pool 10 and 40 are much bigger than calculated. Does anybody know how to fix this because right now any change that I make to the instance profile in RZ10 the system does not startup

PLATFORM : AIX 4.3
REL46C
DB2UDB 7.2

THANKS ALL
CarolS
 

Postby Guest » Tue Oct 22, 2002 3:41 am

Hello,
Have you tried running "sappfpar check pf=<Instance profile>" when you make changes to your instance profile?
Guest
 

instance profile changes, system does not startup

Postby CarolS » Tue Oct 22, 2002 4:05 am

Yes,

I have run the SAPPFPAR CHECK and it says that pool 10 and 40 are too small but if you look at the actual configured size in the instance profile it is much bigger than the ouptu from "sappfpar check"
CarolS
 

Postby bubu » Tue Oct 22, 2002 7:03 am

but are you running sapfpar check when [color=blue]SAP is down[/color]?? In AIX and HP-UX, sappfpar check does not give accurate results when SAP is up .... :wink:

regards
bubu
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 7:42 am

Postby Guest » Tue Oct 22, 2002 7:34 am

Hi,

Yes, sappfpar returned with wrong value when you use profile file with wrong path.
After you execute "cdpro" command as SIDadm type:
sappfpar check pf=./profile_name
Guest
 

Postby Snowy » Tue Oct 22, 2002 8:29 am

Another thing is check is SWAP space.

On unix level type:

swap -l

If you are on 64-bit, make sure you have 20GB swap space.

snow
Snowy
 
Posts: 28767
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535


Return to Basis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests





loading...


This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.