This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

VMC start issue

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

VMC start issue

Postby chutney374 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:19 am

Issues when activating the VMC from SM52

Hi SAPFANS - wonder if anyone can help.

I'm doing an SRM 5.5 to 7.02 upgrade, and part of this is to migrate the PRD system to new hardware. I've done a homogeneous system copy and the system is up and running, however, there is one small problem. The VMC will not start.

I've applied the parameters

vmcj/enable = on
vmcj/option/maxJavaHeap = 200M
vmcj/max_vm_heap_MB = 64
vmcj/option/ps = 768M

on the replacement SRM 5.5 Production System located on the new server, however when I start SAP the dev trace reports:

DpVmcSetActive: set vmc state DP_VMC_NOT_ACTIVE
*** ERROR => DpVmcInit2: could not link vmc [dpxxvmc.c 288]
MPI: dynamic quotas disabled.
MPI init: pipes=4000 buffers=7994 reserved=2398 quota=10%

When I goto SM52 and try to activate the component I get:

VMC STATUS COULD NOT BE CHANGED

In SM53
VM Container not active on this application server

If I run SE38 - RSVMCRT_HEALTH_CHECK

The Java component is deactivated

Please note that note 854170 has been checked.

I must admit, I'm a little lost here, as all the checks, checkout, but the VMC will not start.

Please advise ASAP as we have a go live cutover this weekend and this is a showstopper. A call has been logged with SAP, but as is usually the case, a high priority call isn't really treated as a high priority call in the world of SAP.

Regards

Paul M
chutney374
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:39 am

Re: VMC start issue

Postby chutney374 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:00 am

For anyone who is interested the solution to this problem is:

1. Replace the Kernel with the latest and greatest BUT before replacing the kernel remove the directories JKIT and CFW from the DIR_EXECUTABLES and DIR_CT_RUN kernel directories, then copy the new kernel files in. That sorted it for me.

How SAP get some software passed quality control is beyond.

Regards

Paul M
chutney374
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:39 am


Return to Basis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests





loading...


This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.