This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.

Increase wp

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Increase wp

Postby Geeth » Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:59 pm

Hi Guru's

Just wanted to check if I can increase 5 dialog processes. My present work process detail and RAM is 24 GB.

rdisp/wp_no_dia 25
rdisp/wp_no_btc 10
rdisp/wp_no_vb 5
rdisp/wp_no_vb2 5
rdisp/wp_no_spo 3
rdisp/wp_no_enq 1

How many dialog work process can I increase, and how do you calculate this.

Thanks
Geeth
Geeth
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:10 pm

Re: Increase wp

Postby QZ » Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:31 pm

Hi,

With 24GB RAM, it seems to me like you likely can increase the number of dialog WPs
by 5, but I am not sure. (I am not sure what else is using memory, whether your database
is on the same server, the size of extended memory, etc..)

Change the instance profile and check using "sappfpar check=<Instance profile>".

QZ
QZ
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:02 am

Re: Increase wp

Postby Geeth » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:34 pm

Thank you for your response. What do I check in sappfpar command?

I get this.

***ERROR: Size of shared memory pool 10 too small
================================================================
SOLUTIONS: (1) Locate shared memory segments outside of pool 10
with parameters like: ipc/shm_psize_<key> =0

SOLUTION: Increase size of shared memory pool 10
with parameter: ipc/shm_psize_10 =232000000

***ERROR: Size of shared memory pool 40 too small
================================================================
SOLUTIONS: (1) Locate shared memory segments outside of pool 40
with parameters like: ipc/shm_psize_<key> =0

SOLUTION: Increase size of shared memory pool 40
with parameter: ipc/shm_psize_40 =540000000

Shared memory disposition overview

thanks
Geeth
Geeth
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:10 pm

Re: Increase wp

Postby QZ » Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:01 pm

Hi Geeth,

sappfpar check pf=<x> is used to ensure that the memory parameters are fine so
that the instance can start without issues. You should ensure that there are
no errors. Review the warnings also. Google sappfpar for more info.

It seems like you need to increase the size of these 2 parameters to
the numbers recommended (I usually increase a bit more than recommened)

So change as follows..(Backup the original profile file)

ipc/shm_psize_10 =232000000
ipc/shm_psize_40 =540000000

QZ
QZ
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:02 am


Return to Basis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests





This website is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or approved by SAP AG.