Transporting from QA to DEV

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Post Reply
lenmatika
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:38 pm

Transporting from QA to DEV

Post by lenmatika » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:54 pm

We have are running ECC5 (Dev, QA, Prod) and we are planning to refresh QA with Prod data, however, we want to keep the current user profiles in the QA system. To achieve this, we are trying to export user profiles using SCC8 and SAP_USR profile to the Dev system so that they can imported back to QA once the refresh is done. However, when it creates the transport requests in the QA, they have the QA system SID and not the DEV. For eg: QA is QA1 and DEV is DEV, the usual trasnports we do daily are DEVKxxxxxx, but if these QA1xxxxxx are created how can we import this back to QA. I know the naming convention for transports can be changed in the table E070 but it would still have the QA sid. is this the right approach?

QZ
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:02 am

Re: Transporting from QA to DEV

Post by QZ » Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:33 pm

You can export and import with the QA1 SID.

If you really want the transports from DEV, you can do something along the lines
of creating a small client in DEV (Copying just users and auths from another client),
importing user profiles from QA1's export to that client, and then exporting
them from DEV.


QZ

Tinuviel
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:05 pm

Re: Transporting from QA to DEV

Post by Tinuviel » Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:56 am

Forget about transports. Create a temporary client in QA (or DEV) and do a client copy from a client with good users to the temporary client using profile SAP_USER. Then, after your copy from PRD, do a client copy from the temporary client to the PRD copy client, again using the profile SAP_USER. SAP_USER in non-destructive and only user data gets destroyed, not application or master data.

Snowy
Posts: 28796
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535

Re: Transporting from QA to DEV

Post by Snowy » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:24 am

another option is to continue your client export solution, and simply don't care about target system in your transport.

then, simply manually import your transport in your refreshed system.

Post Reply