Noob Question - Starting New System Log

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Post Reply
Tinuviel
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:05 pm

Noob Question - Starting New System Log

Post by Tinuviel » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:29 am

I realize I probably should know how to do this, and should have done it a million times in the past but I just ever have. Any time my system log (the one displayed in SM21), I just trash it out and let it start over again.

Yet I know there is a procedure for closing the old one and starting a new one automatically. Anyone care to share the proper way, keeping both the old log and the new log data intact?

thx4allthefish
Posts: 5694
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 6:18 pm
Location: barolo barrel

Re: Noob Question - Starting New System Log

Post by thx4allthefish » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:57 am

i may be totally wrong, but i thought you only needed to stop the instances, copy the things away (in case you want to keep them) / do the same to the central log and re-start the instances -> the files should be created automatically with the startup. isn't that what the rslg-parameters in rspfpar are all about?
curiousorange wrote: I give up. Humanity isn't worth saving. Why is there never a Vogon Constructor Fleet around when you really need one?

Tinuviel
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:05 pm

Re: Noob Question - Starting New System Log

Post by Tinuviel » Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:12 pm

I'm pretty sure there is an automated way that does that for you whenever the system log get full. I just don't know the necessary setting.

Post Reply