preven certain users of auto-logout

Basis (Basis Technology Modules: Basis Component/System Administration, GUIs)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

edwin

preven certain users of auto-logout

Post by edwin » Thu Oct 24, 2002 1:27 pm

For security reasons we have the system parameter for auto-logout activated (1800 seconds). This logs-out a user after 30 miniutes inactivity. Unfortunatly this is for ALL users. For some users (e.g. production operators) we would like to overrule this, because they do not often use the session. Anyone a suggestion ? (46C)

Snowy
Posts: 28790
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535

Post by Snowy » Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:40 pm

Nope, this cannot be changed... unless you change ABAP coding...

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Oct 24, 2002 8:43 pm

how do we set autologout for users in sap? which tcode?
thanks

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:35 pm

I think there is an OSS note about editing logon program to exclude certain user IDs from auto_timeout

Zavaros
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:50 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by Zavaros » Thu Oct 24, 2002 11:32 pm

Hi,
the inactivity timeout is global for an appl server without excludes.

U can configure one of the appl servers with different timeout. Of course in this case U have to remove this server from the logon balancing. But I do not advice it. because the users can directly connect to the server.

I haven't checked yet but when I was in the RZ20 the system did not kick me out... but it hurt the response time statistics...

Bye

Zav

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Oct 25, 2002 1:32 am

Anonymous wrote:how do we set autologout for users in sap? which tcode?
thanks
parameter rdisp/gui_auto_logout
permanently set it in your instance parameter or dynamically via RZ11

mehfil
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 4:46 am
Location: US
Contact:

gui autologout

Post by mehfil » Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:56 am

Hi,

I was checking to see which parameter i needs to change for autologout. from here, i can see that i have to add rdisp/gui_auto_logout in my instance profile and specify the time in seconds.

My question : I can see 4 Instance profiles (as shown below), and i know that we have 3 appl servers. so, for the logout to take effect, do i need to modify all the 4 instance profiles? pls advise.

SID_D00_PRDAPP1
SID_D00_PRDAPP2
SID_D00_PRDAPP3
SID_DVEBMGS00_PRDSAPGRP

thanks, mfl

Snowy
Posts: 28790
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535

Post by Snowy » Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:58 am

your profile names look odd:

SID_D00_PRDAPP1
SID_D00_PRDAPP2
SID_D00_PRDAPP3
SID_DVEBMGS00_PRDSAPGRP

instead of seeing D00 for 3 servers, the `00` part should change. Maybe your last profile import did not work properly?

anyways, you need to change all profiles with your parameters or consider only changing the DEFUALT profile.

mehfil
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 4:46 am
Location: US
Contact:

Post by mehfil » Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:28 am

Thanks Snowy..

HSVBasisGuy

Post by HSVBasisGuy » Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:02 pm

Aren't the profiles names standard, assuming that the Dialog instances on Hosts PRDAPP1, PRDAPP2 and PRDAPP3 are all using System Number 00?

Snowy
Posts: 28790
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535

Post by Snowy » Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:40 pm

HSVBasisGuy wrote:Aren't the profiles names standard, assuming that the Dialog instances on Hosts PRDAPP1, PRDAPP2 and PRDAPP3 are all using System Number 00?

you cannot use the same system number for the same SID for your apps server. if you try, you won`t be able to use them as APPS servers.

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:41 pm

Wong answer.. You can use the same instance numbers for all app servers for the same SID

yls177
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:12 pm

Post by yls177 » Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:05 pm

Anonymous wrote:Wong answer.. You can use the same instance numbers for all app servers for the same SID

yeah, the above is right.

unless the instances are going to be in the same physical server, then u need different instance number.

if confused, lets discuss....

Rgds
The heart has its reasons which reason knows not of
PASCAL

Snowy
Posts: 28790
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: 3.1415926535

Post by Snowy » Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:40 am

hmmm.I never saw a system using the same system numbers across APPS server... it may be feasible but I never saw this...

yls177
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:12 pm

Post by yls177 » Sun Dec 11, 2005 9:18 am

our once dear friend posted in his knowledge base, maybe u can check it out
The heart has its reasons which reason knows not of
PASCAL

Post Reply