Changing Number Ranges For Personnel Numbers

Human Resources (PM, OM, PA, TM ,PD)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, muhnkee_2

Post Reply
dcg
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 7:51 pm
Location: Canberra, Australia

Changing Number Ranges For Personnel Numbers

Post by dcg » Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:53 pm

Good afternoon all.

I currently hav the following Number Ranges for Personnel Numbers :

01 00000001 to 00009999 IN (current number about 00000650)
02 00010000 to 99999999 EX (lowest value will be 02000000)

The business has some new requirements and I need to create a new Internal Number Range. Can I update the existing and add a new Number Range so I have the following :

01 00000001 to 00199999 IN (current number still about 00000650)
02 02000000 to 99999999 EX (lowest value will be 02000000)
03 00200000 to 01999999 IN (starting at 00200000)

or will I need to end the existing Number Range 01 and create another new one to replace it?

Thanks

David

muhnkee_2
Posts: 3548
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 5:51 am
Location: where the sun is shining, drinks are cold and the food is good

Re: Changing Number Ranges For Personnel Numbers

Post by muhnkee_2 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:44 am

hey David,
i havent done this for a while, but i believe that when you are making changes to number ranges, it is never possible to save a record that has an overlapping number.
so i think you are going to need to delete them both and recreate them in three parts...
also need to think of the number assignment feature to make sure you update that too.
hope that helps
greg
Author of Discover SAP ERP HCM
A high level introduction to the capabilities and functionality of SAP HR
Available now from SAP Press
http://sap-press.com/product.cfm?account=&product=H2989

dcg
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 7:51 pm
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Changing Number Ranges For Personnel Numbers

Post by dcg » Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:11 pm

Greg

Good morning.

Thanks for that - I thought I would have to re-create my number ranges...will see how I go.

David

PS Apologies for the delay, have been away on holidays

Post Reply