Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Financials (FI, CO, TR, EC)

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish, Baz, darkduck

Post Reply
aveev
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:52 pm

Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Post by aveev » Tue May 22, 2012 3:06 am

Hi, I'm quite new to sap finance.
I create a company code by doing the copy from another company code.
I also create a chart of account by doing the copy from another chart of account. When I try to assign this newly created chart of account to my company code, there is an error message:
"reset company code data before changing the chart of accounts"

I have already looked at this thread about the same problem :
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=319725

It suggests that I should run tcode obr1 to reset transaction data for this company code. But when I run this tcode, the system gives me runtime error message:
"error when importing object t_bkpf"

I assume that means the transaction data deletion process did not finish perfectly.
When I googled the error above, I can not understand clearly to resolve this issue..
How can I solve this problem ?
Thanks..

darkduck
Posts: 2469
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: whereami?
Contact:

Re: Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Post by darkduck » Tue May 22, 2012 7:41 am

do you have a message number for the t_bkpf issue?
SAP FI FAQ: http://en.sap.darkduck.com

Just before submitting any question, have a look at http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html please...

aveev
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Post by aveev » Tue May 22, 2012 9:43 pm

I can't see the message number. But I attach the error screen output below, if that helps..
Image

cheers

darkduck
Posts: 2469
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: whereami?
Contact:

Re: Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Post by darkduck » Wed May 23, 2012 6:54 am

I would check that your system does not have any custom fields in bkpf.
SAP FI FAQ: http://en.sap.darkduck.com

Just before submitting any question, have a look at http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html please...

aveev
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: Failed to assign chart of account to company code

Post by aveev » Thu May 24, 2012 12:00 am

Hi darkduck.. thanks for your response..
I solve this problem by creating another company code ...:)
When creating a company code (tcode ec01 menu organizational object-> copy org object), the dialog box to copy g/l accounts in company code appears. By choosing no to copy this g/l accounts. I don't have this problem anymore..
They company code I created before, it copied all g/l accounts (I choose 'yes' on copy g/l accts dialog box) and that's why this problem appears...
regards,

Post Reply